Limit this search to....

Sail Away Reprint Edition
Contributor(s): Crews, Donald
ISBN: 0688175171     ISBN-13: 9780688175177
Publisher: Greenwillow
    OUR PRICE: $8.40  
Product Type: Paperback - Other Formats
Published: May 2000
Qty:
Annotation: "With his unerring sense of color and design, Crews has once again successfully captured the essence of a moving experience within the confines of a book."--"School Library Journal" starred review. "Booklist" Editor's Choice. Full color.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Sailing; Fiction.
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Transportation | Boats, Ships & Underwater Craft
- Juvenile Fiction | Nature & The Natural World
Dewey: [E]
LCCN: BL 00010717
Academic/Grade Level: Toddlers, Ages 2-4
Book type: Easy Fiction
Physical Information: 8.00" H x 10.00" W x 0.25" (0.25 lbs)
Accelerated Reader Info
Quiz #: 47517
Reading Level: 1.3   Interest Level: Lower Grades   Point Value: 0.5
Scholastic Reading Counts Info
Quiz #: Q17211
Reading Level: 1.5   Interest Level: Grades K-2   Point Value: 1.0
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.
Publisher Description:
Sail Away

It's a perfect day for sailing. Motor under the bridge, "putt . . . putt . . . putt" past the lighthouse, put up the sails, and whoosh But watch out for a change in the weather. Seas will swell and waves will crash before you sail back home.


Reviewed by Horn Book Guide Reviews (Horn Book Guide Reviews 1995)
Text and pictures follow a family out on ""a perfect day for sailing."" The clean, crisp watercolors impart peace and tranquility at the start of the sail and then unfold to a dramatic double-page spread of wind filling the sails. A sudden storm kicks up, but the family make it safely back to shore by nightfall. The paintings move and swell, and the words are haikulike in their efficiency and implication. Copyright 1998 Horn Book Guide Reviews

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 1995 April #2)
In the tradition of Truck and Freight Train, Crews spirits young readers away in an interesting vehicle, this time for a day of sailing. The power in the air and water are palpable as a family rows the dinghy out to board their sailboat and embark on an exciting trip. But when ``clear skies turn cloudy and gray'' and the seas become angry, the crew faces some scary moments. Crews's short phrases and multi-sized typefaces work in tandem to convey a true feeling of motion. In one particularly striking spread, for example, the word ``Whoosh!'' appears in giant letters as the sails are raised; the letters gradually bleach from a nautical blue ``W'' to a brilliant white ``H.'' Sunny blues and greens and lots of crisp white make up an appropriate seafaring palette. Even landlubbers won't be able to resist this invigorating outing. Ages 2-up. (Apr.) Copyright 1995 Cahners Business Information.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 1995 May)
PreS-Gr 3?With inventive interplay between typeface and art, Crews conveys the excitement of a somewhat harrowing sailing experience. It starts out as a perfect day when the small sloop leaves its mooring, putt putts out under the bridge, passes the lighthouse, and sets sail. A violent storm provides a dramatic crescendo to the adventure before the boat returns home safely as the sun is setting. The brief text with selected onomatopoeia works harmoniously with the bold yet fluid watercolor art to create the sensation of sailing. The clever design utilizes typeface to further extend the impression of motion: slanted words mirror the angle of the wind, letters change size during climactic plot shifts, and, at times, the print is incorporated into the illustrations?when the sails catch the wind with a forceful WHOOSH, the overblown letters billow onto the white sail. With his unerring sense of color and design, Crews has again successfully captured the essence of a moving experience within the confines of a book.?Caroline Ward, Nassau Library System, Uniondale, NY