Limit this search to....

First Star: A Bear and Mole Story
Contributor(s): Hillenbrand, Will
ISBN: 0823437604     ISBN-13: 9780823437603
Publisher: Holiday House
    OUR PRICE: $16.20  
Product Type: Hardcover
Published: May 2018
Qty:
Annotation: While camping, Mole becomes frightened when the sun sets and to calm his fears, Bear tells him the legend of how the first stars came to be.
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Stars; Fiction.
Camping; Fiction.
Bears; Fiction.
BISAC Categories:
- Juvenile Fiction | Legends, Myths, Fables
- Juvenile Fiction | Social Issues | Friendship
Dewey: [E]
LCCN: 2016050982
Academic/Grade Level: Kindergarten, Ages 5-6
Series: Bear and Mole Story
Book type: Easy Fiction
Physical Information: 12.00" H x 12.00" W x 0.50" (1.00 lbs)
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Reviewed by Publishers Weekly Reviews (PW Reviews 2018 May #2)

Unlikely best friends Bear and Mole—childlike and adorably dressed in patchy overalls—climb to Camp Tiptop to "see the stars turn on." Through their caring, clear communication, Hillenbrand conveys the distinctive dynamics of the pair's relationship. Once they sets up camp, Mole becomes anxious about the dark, so Bear tells him a legend of the "First Star," with dreamlike, successive spreads showing "First Father Bear," "First Mother Bear," and "First Baby Bear" shaping the moon and stars from clay to light the dark night. Hillenbrand's artwork exudes warmth—even as night falls and Bear and Mole are surrounded by deep, indigo blue. Hillenbrand offers a tender depiction of two friends on an adventure that is almost—but not quite—scary with a story within a story that will stir readers' imaginations. Ages 3–6. (May)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Reviewed by School Library Journal Reviews (SLJ Reviews 2018 April)

PreS-K—When Mole wants to see the stars, Bear suggests they go camping. Once there, Mole becomes scared of the approaching night. Bear, always encouraging and brave, tells Mole about the First Star, better known as the North Star. Throughout the text, repetitive words are set in caps. In shades of blue, purple, and black, the First Bear family look on in fear as it becomes dark out. Mole and Bear watch from the corner of the pages as First Father Bear, First Mother Bear, and First Little Bear create the moon and the stars. All the facial expressions relax as they are lit by the gentle white light of the sky and Mole's lantern. On a full vertical spread, First Father Bear pushes "HARD, HARD, HARD" to affix the North Star that will never move. At the end, the illustrations are still in dark hues, but the stars, body language of the characters, and dialogue make the story playful and lovely. Parents and caregivers will appreciate the book's message to children afraid of the dark. This is a gentle alternative to mythological creation stories and scientific explanations. VERDICT Another empowering message for fans of Bear and Mole that is perfect for bedtime and small group sharing.—Elissa Cooper, Helen Plum Memorial Library, Lombard, IL

Copyright 2018 School Library Journal.