Limit this search to....

The Selling of the Babe: The Deal That Changed Baseball and Created a Legend
Contributor(s): Stout, Glenn
ISBN: 1250064317     ISBN-13: 9781250064318
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
    OUR PRICE: $25.20  
Product Type: Hardcover - Other Formats
Published: March 2016
Qty:
Annotation: "The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunesof two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known. More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including: -Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert -Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale - Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder The Selling of Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man,The Babe"--
Additional Information
Library of Congress Subjects:
Baseball players; United States; Biography.
SPORTS & RECREATION / Baseball / History.; bisacsh
BISAC Categories:
- Sports & Recreation | Baseball | History
Dewey: 796.357092
LCCN: 2015043222
Academic/Grade Level: General Adult
Book type: Non-Fiction
Physical Information: 9.50" H x 6.50" W x 1.00" (1.05 lbs) 294 pages
 
Descriptions, Reviews, Etc.

Contributor Bio(s): GLENN STOUT is the series editor for The Best American Sports Writing and a Casey Award finalist author of such titles as Red Sox Century, Yankees Century, and Fenway 1912.